Tuesday, April 24, 2018
About NCHD
Mission Statement
Board of Managers
Board & Committee Meetings
Conflicts of Interest
Financial Statements
Nueces Aid Program
Medicaid 1115 Waiver
Affordable Care Act
Helpful Links
Employment Opportunities
Bids & Proposals
HIPAA Privacy Information
Contact Us
Site Map

Home   1115 Waiver Information
Medicaid 1115 Waiver: Regional Healthcare Partnership Plan & Stakeholder Resources

RHP Plans

General Information

Under the Texas 1115 Waiver, each RHP is required to create a regional plan as the basis for:

  • Voluntarily improving regional access, quality, cost-effectiveness and collaboration;
  • Identifying transformation programs, performance metrics, and incentive payments for each participating hospital consistent with the Delivery System Reform Incentive Payment (DSRIP) menu of projects; and
  • Payment of funds (formerly Upper Payment Limit funding) protected under the Texas Healthcare Transformation and Quality Improvement Program 1115 waiver.

The DSRIP projects may be either three, four, or five years in length and are organized into four Categories, which are interrelated and complementary:

  • Category 1 - Infrastructure Development: lays the foundation for delivery system transformation through investments in technology, tools, and human resources that will strengthen the ability of providers to serve populations and continuously improve services;
  • Category 2 - Program Innovation & Redesign: includes the piloting, testing, and replicating of innovative care models;
  • Category 3 - Quality Improvements: includes outcome reporting and improvements in care that can be achieved within four years;  and
  • Category 4 - Population-focused Improvements: the reporting of measures that demonstrate the impact of delivery system reform investments under the waiver; applicable to hospitals only.

Additional information about DSRIP project Categories is available from HHSC at RHP Planning Protocols.

RHP 4 Plan

The RHP 4 Plan describes DSRIP projects proposed by the hospitals, local mental health authorities, and a public health department located in RHP 4 (Providers).  The focus of the Plan is the DSRIP projects; the Plan provides detailed information about those projects.  The Plan is submitted to the Texas Health & Human Services Commission (HHSC) and U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

Original RHP 4 Plan (2012)

To access the RHP 4 Plan originally submitted to HHSC/CMS in 2012, click Original RHP 4 Plan and to access the original Plan's associated data file, click Original RHP 4 Plan Data File.  The Original RHP 4 Plan includes the RHP 4 Community Needs Assessment.

Process Used for Adding Three-Year DSRIP Projects to RHP 4 Plan

Three-Year projects are additional Texas 1115 Waiver DSRIP projects selected by Providers in 2013 from Categories 1, 2, or 3 that operate only in Demonstration Years 3, 4, and 5.  Funding for the Three-Year Projects comes from unallocated Waiver funds available from those Demonstration Years.

To view the process used by RHP 4 for adding Three-Year DSRIP Projects, click 3-Year Project Selection.  The final Three-Year Projects for RHP 4 are available at All RHP's 3-Year DSRIP Projects; sort the linked workbook for RHP 4.

Updated RHP 4 Plan (2015)

To access information about the RHP 4 Plan currently on file with HHSC/CMS, click the links below for the particular DSRIP project information desired:

The RHP 4 Plan is subject to change.


 Last updated: 9/12/2017

555 North Carancahua St, Suite #950, Corpus Christi, TX 78401-0835
Phone 361.808.3300 • Fax 361.808.3274 • www.nchdcc.org
© 2018 All Rights Reserved. Administration Login.